CSS Design Award nominee

Fredric Aasbo Wins in Canada as Formula Drift Championship Chase Intensifies!


Fredric Aasbo Wins in Canada as Formula Drift Championship Chase Intensifies!

Posted 2016-07-23


MONTREAL, Canada (July 16, 2016) – Fredric Aasbo topped the podium in Canada this weekend and, with three rounds remaining in the 2016 Formula Drift season, the defending champion is in a close fight for the points lead.






“To win here today, it took everything I’ve learned over these years, the best crew in the business, and our Rockstar Energy Drink Nexen Tire SR by Toyota tC — which is a pretty fantastic creation,” said Aasbo. “It feels like we’ve been struggling over the past few events, but now we’re back.”

Aasbo was an early favorite among the enthusiastic fans that packed the Montreal area Autodrome St-Eustache for Round 5 of the Formula Drift Championship. Although it was the first full points race for the series at the Canadian venue, Aasbo won there last season on the way to the World Championship. He didn’t disappoint on his return.

A strong qualifying score earned Aasbo a bye run in first round competition and he battled past Pat Goodin in the Top 16 and Matt Coffman in the Great 8. The Final 4 between Aasbo and Odi Bakchis was close enough to split the judges, but Aasbo advanced to face down two-time champion Chris Forsberg for the event win.

The longtime rivals made for thrilling competition and fans let loose with thunderous applause as the two champions drifted inches from each other under the lights. With a powerful lead and flawless chase, it was Aasbo who took the battle and the event win — his second this year.
“The drivers put on such a good show here in Canada,” said team owner Stephan Papadakis. “As the competition got into the Top 4, everyone was so close in ability and car setup that they really put on a clinic in how world class drifting is done.”

As the season heads into the home stretch, a battle of champions has emerged at the top of the standings. Defending champ Aasbo is a slim three points behind 2010 title winner Vaughn Gittin Jr. and 27 points ahead of two-time champion Chris Forsberg. And all three are eager to win another series crown. “This is going to be one of the most crazy championship chases of all time,” said Aasbo. “It’s going to be one heck of a show all the way to Irwindale.”

Next, teams travel to Monroe, Washington, August 5-6, for Throwdown at Evergreen Speedway. The championship then travels to Fort Worth, Texas, September 9-10, before wrapping up the year with the California season ender at Irwindale Speedway October 7 and 8.

Drifting is a high-skill, high-powered motorsport with an emphasis on car control skill. Drivers compete in knockout heats on a closed course, sliding sideways in trials judged on speed and style. With origins in Japan, it is one of the fastest growing forms of motorsport in the world.

In 2016, the series again offers live and on-demand online coverage on the Formula Drift Livestream with 360,000 views recorded during the Montreal event. Formula Drift also returns this season to CBS Sports Network for 20 half-hour television programs. The fast-paced action featuring bracketed head-to-head match-ups anchors the coverage.

Take me back

Site info

Design and development by Fredrik Sørlie.

Copyright © Fredric Aasbo Racing. All rights reserved.

Get in touch

If you prefer to write, you may send an e-mail to fredric.aasbo@gmail.com

Please follow or communicate with me via my Instagram profile, or use the contact form on this website.